Summary
5

A great stay - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed another wonderful stay here with fantastic food, company and great hosts. As ever, we look forward to coming back.

Reviewer: David | Mon 1st Apr 2024 | 18 hours ago


Outstanding food - Rating 5/5

Seatoller House is simply the perfect base to walk the wonderful hills around you and come back to a superb four course dinner. The breakfast ranges from delicious Cumberland sausage to avocado on toast and is hugely generous. The rooms are extremely comfortable, and clean and the atmosphere warm and cosy, not least through the welcome of Nigel and Patricia. Thoroughly recommend.

Reviewer: Rachel D | Thu 26th Oct 2023 | 5 months ago


Quirky with loads of history and traditions - Rating 5/5

If you want modern luxury and convenience then this place is not for you - if you don't get on with other people then this place is not for you - or so you might think!Perhaps you should try it though as it might make you think about what is important in your life.This place is almost 400 years old and you can't mess with a 400 year old building to make everything en-suite and full of plugs for your USB charging cables (just bring an adapter or extension gang lead). This place has character; Nigel and Trish are fantastic hosts, and the food is fantastic. There are no private tables for breakfast or dinner, there are no a la carte menus but these things are all unnecessary.I'll say it again the food is fantastic but if you have a dietary issue with the planned menu then let Trish know and she'll work around this.Everyone sits at 2 (sometimes 3) communal tables and we all talk - no one stares at their phone - in fact I don't remember seeing a phone at mealtimes in the 4 days we stayed.We learned about the traditions of Seatoller House especially the annual hunt with human hare and hounds that has been staged for 130 years.The Borrowdale valley is beautiful and it's a great location for all types of walks.The Scafells, Gables, High Spy, Dale Head, Glaramara and Haystacks are on your doorstep but there are plenty of lakeside walks or lower fells for those looking for something a little less adventurous.There's even a bus stop right outside the door to get to Keswick or Buttermere.I've stayed here with my grandson for fell walking trips, and this time with my wife.We absolutely loved it and will definitely be returning. Over 90% of guests are repeaters and loads have clocked up many years of repeating.Thanks to all the team for looking after us.

Reviewer: Steve S | Wed 2nd Aug 2023 | 8 months ago


Brilliant, as always.- Rating 5/5

Nigel, Trish and the team are consummate hosts. Seatoller is perfect if you want tranquility, lovely walks, great food and convivial company.

Reviewer: Neil P | Tue 1st Aug 2023 | 8 months ago


Another wonderful stay! - Rating 5/5

Coming back to Seatoller House always feels like coming home and this was no exception. Nigel and Trish are wonderful hosts and as usual we ate extremely well with very generous portions and breakfasts to set us up for long days on the hills. We also enjoyed some very convivial company during our stay, with an international flavour.On this occasion the weather was less kind than sometimes and we were also able to appreciate the excellent drying room! We look forward to our next visit.

Reviewer: Deborah| Fri 14th Jul 2023 | 8 months ago


Exceptional hospitality- Rating 5/5

Beautiful setting, immaculately clean accommodation and all the food was delicious and plentiful.

Reviewer: Lisa| Wed 7th Jun 2023 | 9 months ago


Relaxing break - Rating 5/5

Seatoller house offers everything you need for the perfect lakeland holiday. It is set in beautiful gardens with comfortable rooms and the best home cooked food. Thank you Nigel, Trish & team for a much needed relaxing break. We look forward to the next time.

Reviewer: Cara R | Tue 2nd May 2023 | 11 months ago


Hospitality and Tradition at its Best - Rating 5/5

The house of tradition and attention to detail. The place of hospitality that brings different people together in a gentle jet profound way. Seatoller House does not pretend to be special but through that it really is - as great places and things so often are.

Reviewer: Irena W | Tue 25th Apr 2023 | 11 months ago


Excellent- Rating 5/5

As always we had a wonderful time. Excellent accommodation,fantastic food and unique atmosphere.

Reviewer: John| Fri 21st Apr 2023 | 11 months ago


Excellent fare, great atmosphere, very comfortable- Rating 5/5

Warm welcome and super hospitality from fabulous homemade food to all home comforts

Reviewer: Anonymous| Thu 3rd Nov 2022 | 1 year ago


Extra Information

  • Daily House Keeping
  • Linen And Towels Provided
  • Mountain View
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • Pet Friendly Room
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
  • Parking On-site
  • Restaurant
  • Vegetarian
  • Vegan Options Available
  • Bar
  • Country Retreat
  • Family Room Available
  • Walking Holidays
  • Mountain View Rooms
  • Well Behaved Dogs Welcome

General Policy

Dining
Breakfast is served between 8.00 - 8.30am daily.
DINNER MUST BE PRE-BOOKED 48 HOURS IN ADVANCE if not booked direct,dinner is a set menu served at 7.00pm with the exception of Tuesdays, when Dinner is not served, Alternatively a reservation can be made for you locally.

Cancellation Policy
Cancellations made within 14 days of arrival or \\\"no show\\\" bookings will be charged at 100% of the full rate. In the case of short notice (14 days) cancellations, we will endeavour to re-let, but any room we are unable to re- let will be charged at 50% of the full rate. Guests cancelling their bookings in advance of these times may have their deposit transferred to a date later in the same year.

Arrival & Departures
Rooms are not guaranteed to be available until 2.00pm and departure is required by 10.00am. Any guest that wishes to arrive after 7pm should do so by arrangement, although unfortunately we are unable to provide hot meals after this time.

Dogs
Well behaved dogs are allowed, they are not allowed in the dining room at any time,Please clean and dry all dogs on entering Seatoller via the back door. Please ensure you clean up after your dog has been in the garden.

Group House Bookings
A minimum number of 16 persons is required for house exclusivity, If the group falls below the minimum number other bookings will be accepted