Reviews

Remarkable achievement - Rating 5/5

Somehow - and it ia a remarkable achievement on the part of those who run it - Seatoller House stays the same as it always has been and yet everything is a bit better each time I stay.This year it was the food that seemed to me more interesting and more varied than I remembered.

Reviewer:John H | Fri 12th Oct 2018 | 1 month ago


Great tradition - Rating 5/5

Seatoller maintains and even exceeds its wonderful reputation as a home for walkers, climbers, and those with memories of past exploits to gather and share their stories in comfortable surroundings with superb meals. The rooms,onw mostly ensuite, are spacious and pleasant. The evening meals, served family style, are delicious and well worth the modest charge. Nigel’s hospitality is flawless.The atmosphere is unique!

Reviewer:Robert J | Fri 21st Sep 2018 | 1 month ago


Great place to stay off the beaten track - Rating 5/5

Lovely place, other guests were great people. Hosts were helpful, available and fun to chat with. I really recommend staying in this B& B. Breakfasts were delicious.

Reviewer:Jacob M | Wed 29th Aug 2018 | 2 months ago


Quiet Location and Friendly Atmosphere - Rating 5/5

This was a fantastic location in the middle of the lake district. Surrounded by fields and mountains all around, it is very much off the path of most visitors to the area. There are convenient bus stops right outside the house (77A, 77 and 78 from Keswick). My husband and I were reliant on the public transportation to get us around the area, which made it a bit difficult to get back to the Seatoller house in the evenings (last bus leaves Keswick at 6:20pm) , but if you have your own transport or are keen to be walking for most of your trip, it is a very manageable location.The cooked breakfasts each morning are a wonderful way to start your day whether that includes walking trails or visiting the towns. It also allows you to meet your fellow travelers and makes for some great connections and conversations. Nigel is a great host and is always on top of everything you need.We didn't take advantage of the evening meal opportunity but I've been told it's a wonderful treat and worth booking as well.It is the dampest valley in the District, so come prepared with warm clothes. Our room was a bit damp and drafty - colder than the rest of the house, but the bed was one of the most comfortable that we've ever slept in.

Reviewer:Lindsey W | Tue 21st Aug 2018 | 2 months ago


A pleasure to stay in this historic building so full of interest and character- Rating 5/5

Thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay at Seatoller House, an historic building so full of interest and character in a great location for access to walks in the area. Very friendly, helpful staff, large bedroom but private rather than en suite bathroom was a bit odd but not a problem for us. Delicious food and weespecially loved the idea of the coffee/cake/bar “honesty” idea which would be great to see adopted elsewhere.

Reviewer:Linda C | Tue 26th Jun 2018 | 4 months ago


Review - Rating 5/5

We were made very welcome at Seatoller House. Our room was clean and comfortable,and we really enjoyed our stay.

Reviewer:Brian T | Tue 24th Apr 2018 | 6 months ago


Seatoller House - Rating 5/5

This is a real gem of a place! The food is superb, as is the company and the surroundings. We absolutely loved the tea bar and the excellent drying room came in very useful on one of the days. Many thanks to Nigel and Trish for a fantastic few days - we will be back!

Reviewer:JOY R | Fri 4th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


Incredible Experience - Rating 5/5

The Seatoller will exceed your expectations. The property is warm and inviting, and suits those who wish to socialize and meet other nature lovers or those who see privacy. The grounds are teeming with birds and the three red squirrels that delight the eye---as well as a nearby farmer's property with idyllic, picture-perfect sheep. The food was AMAZING. Nigel and Trish make you feel like family. This place is extraordinary.

Reviewer:Michelle K | Sat 22nd Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Recent stay - Rating 4/5

As always a lovely stay with an excellent evening meal. The bathrooms have been upgraded along with the bedroom furnishings.

Reviewer:Mr. Ian T | Sat 15th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


A unique treat in a beautiful location - Rating 5/5

We absolutely loved Seatoller House, from the history to the setting to the other guests to the hosting, which included delicious group style dinners. I would definitely return on any trip to the area. Many of our fellow guests had been coming for decades. It is really a special place.

Reviewer:Ms. AngelaB | Sun 18th Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


Walking Break - Rating 5/5

The house is clean, comfortable and the food is excellent, the staff are friendly and helpful - if only there was a TV so we didn't miss all the Olympics!!Thanks again for another great stay!!Ken Robinson

Reviewer:Mr. Ken R | Mon 15th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


A beautiful stay - Rating 5/5

we had an amazing stay at Seatoller House - a beautiful historic, building in a convenient location for the fells, well provisioned and extremely efficiently run. We found ourselves not minding the poor weather which shortened our walks and took us back to the house early, where we could sit and read in the library or make ourselves tea to go with delicious cake in the guest kitchen. The meals were all fabulous. Despite its comforts it retains a level of informality and attracts interesting guests - some we discovered have been returning for more than 20 years! We too will be back.

Reviewer:Ms. JudithK | Mon 8th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


A very enjoyable stay - Rating 5/5

We thoroughly enjoyed the time we spent at Seatoller. The staff were particularly helpful and accommodating. The food was always very good. Ourroom was clean and comfortable. We slept very well partly due to the invigorating walks. On the day it rained heavily it was useful to be able to dry our boots and clothes so easily.

Reviewer:Mrs. Anne P | Sat 6th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


July visit - Rating 5/5

Perfect place to start a hike up the mountains.Food was excellent, rooms were clean and comfortable, and a very welcoming atmosphere.

Reviewer:Mr. Andrew P | Sun 31st Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


A unique experience! - Rating 5/5

We've been visiting Seatoller House for over 20 years and it's always a pleasure to return. Seatoller House is the antithesis of a hotel chain a sort of cross between a gentlemen's club, Oxford college and your aunties country house. Guests are encouraged to talk to each other and be friendly. Walkers, dogs and muddy boots are welcome. A freshly baked cake greets hungry hikers on their return. Lovely place, long may it continue!

Reviewer:Dr. Rod M | Tue 26th Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


Seaitoller House - Rating 5/5

Another really enjoyable stay. Comfortable accommodation and excellent cuisine.

Reviewer:Mrs. Sheila W | Sat 23rd Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


perfect guesthouse to experience beauty of the Lake district - Rating 5/5

We absolutely enjoyed our stay!!! Everything was perfect. Even the weather. Hope to do it agaian...will tell others about your lovely guesthouse. Thank you

Reviewer:Mrs. Janet P | Wed 20th Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


Excellent Place to stay - Rating 5/5

Seatoller House exceeded my expectations. Ideally placed with plenty off road parking.Very friendly. Excellent meals. House party style meant as a solo female I didn't feel isolated at meals. No TV or radio encouraged conversation.

Reviewer:Ms. Mavis T | Tue 12th Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


A Perfect trip in warm sunshine - Rating 5/5

Dear Nigel and TrishMany thanks for you unfailing hospitality.Delicious food in a well equipped and well managed house.Everything in order plus the excellent company of fellow fell-enthusiasts

Reviewer:Mr. Michael D | Tue 10th May 2016 | 2 years ago


A unique and very special place. - Rating 5/5

My husband and I have been coming to Seatoller house for many years. The house has a very special ambience and we enjoy the traditions of conviviality with other guests;sharing stories in the guest kitchen after walks and in the comfortable sitting rooms after the evening meal. The food is excellent and the rooms ( all different) attractive, comfortable and very clean.Nigel and Trish are excellent hosts

Reviewer:Mrs. Helen E | Sat 30th Apr 2016 | 2 years ago


We\'ve found our haven. - Rating 5/5

Can't fault anything about our stay. We came away for a couple of days break before the kids broke up from school. It was a perfect, restful time. The atmosphere was friendly, informal and very relaxed. We didn't have the evening meal as we wanted the flexibility of being out as long as we want, but if the breakfast was anything to go by then it probably couldn't be faulted as it was excellent. There's so much more we could say - suffice to say we'll be back for another, longer visit. We would definitely recommend a stay. There's a danger we will become regular visitors.

Reviewer:Mrs. Kay D | Tue 27th Oct 2015 | 3 years ago


Extra Information

  • Credit Card
  • Free Parking
  • Parking Facilities
  • Restaurant
  • Bar
  • Internet Services
  • Wifi

General Policy

Dining
Breakfast is served between 8.00 - 8.30am daily.
DINNER MUST BE PRE-BOOKED 48 HOURS IN ADVANCE if not booked direct,dinner is a set menu served at 7.00pm with the exception of Tuesdays, when Dinner is not served, Alternatively a reservation can be made for you locally.

Cancellation Policy
Cancellations made within 14 days of arrival or \\\"no show\\\" bookings will be charged at 100% of the full rate. In the case of short notice (14 days) cancellations, we will endeavour to re-let, but any room we are unable to re- let will be charged at 50% of the full rate. Guests cancelling their bookings in advance of these times may have their deposit transferred to a date later in the same year.

Arrival & Departures
Rooms are not guaranteed to be available until 2.00pm and departure is required by 10.00am. Any guest that wishes to arrive after 7pm should do so by arrangement, although unfortunately we are unable to provide hot meals after this time.

Dogs
Well behaved dogs are allowed, they are not allowed in the dining room at any time,Please clean and dry all dogs on entering Seatoller via the back door. Please ensure you clean up after your dog has been in the garden.

Group House Bookings
A minimum number of 16 persons is required for house exclusivity, If the group falls below the minimum number other bookings will be accepted